Français
PLEIS-NB • Public Legal Education and Information Service of New Brunswick
  
Projects
Family Law Project
Video for Youth Victims of Crime
Workshops for Charitable Organizations
Websites
Archive of Projects
 
Speaker's Bureau
Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

 

 
 
 
Projects


New Family Law Project Announced

PLEIS-NB is pleased to announce a new project to create a “virtual family law centre”.  With funding from Justice Canada, and the collaboration of an advisory committee of legal experts and community stakeholders, PLEIS is producing a range of helpful on-line family law resources.  Access to the “centre” will be as simple as clicking an “icon” on the Internet.  The user will be able to select any one of the multiple family law information spokes that radiate out from a central hub such as:

  • FAQs (commonly asked questions about family law issues, legal rights, laws and court process);
  • “Ask an Expert” (a selection of video clips with family law judges and lawyers explaining how individuals can prepare to represent themselves in the Court of Queen’s Bench, Family Division during a family law hearing);
  • Family Law Forms
  • Finding a lawyer
  • Parenting after separation
  • Self-help guides and family law publications
  • Going to Court

Much of the information is found within existing PLEIS publications.  However, the family law centre will make the information much more accessible.   Family law is complex and it is always preferable that individuals use a lawyer, or at the very least, obtain legal advice. For a variety of reasons there are more and more people attempting to handle their family law issues themselves. PLEIS does not provide legal advice or comment on specific situations.  However, individuals planning to represent themselves can peruse the virtual centre to find out about alternatives to going to court, and if necessary, learn how to obtain and complete forms, what forms are required to start a particular action, how to schedule a hearing, and so on. 

The intent of this project is to help individuals representing themselves to be better prepared before appearing in court which should make their experience in the courts less stressful. We hope that this will increase the efficiency of the court, by reducing the need for judges to stop proceedings to educate self-representing litigants.

We are pleased to welcome two new legal research assistants for this project – Mélodie Lagacé and Wendy Miller.


For more information, contact us at pleisnb@web.ca

English
SPEIJ-NB • Service public d'éducation et d'information juridiques du Nouveau-Brunswick
  
Projets
Project de droit familial
Familles en sécurités…collectivités sûres
Vidéo pour les jeunes victimes d’actes criminels
Ateliers à l’intention des organismes de bienfaisance
Sites Web
Archives des projets
 
service de conférenciers
Faire un don maintenant par CanadaHelps.org!
 
 
 
Projets

Annonce d’un nouveau projet de droit familial

Le Service public d’éducation et d’information juridiques du Nouveau Brunswick (SPEIJ NB) est heureux d’annoncer le lancement d’un projet visant à mettre sur pied un centre virtuel de droit familial. Grâce à l’aide financière de Justice Canada et de la collaboration d’un comité consultatif composé de juristes et d’intervenants communautaires, le SPEIJ NB prépare une gamme de ressources électroniques utiles en matière de droit de la famille. Pour accéder au centre, il suffira de cliquer sur un icône en ligne. L’utilisateur pourra choisir l’un des nombreux thèmes de droit familial qui rayonnent du centre, notamment :

Une grande partie de l’information offerte provient des publications existantes du SPEIJ NB. Grâce au centre virtuel de droit familial, l’information sera beaucoup plus facile d’accès. Les questions de droit familial sont complexes et il est toujours préférable de faire appel aux services d’un avocat ou au moins d’obtenir un avis juridique. Pour diverses raisons, de plus de plus de personnes tentent de régler leurs propres affaires de droit de la famille. Le SPEIJ n’offre pas d’avis juridiques ni de commentaires relatifs à des situations particulières. Cependant, les personnes qui prévoient se représenter elles mêmes peuvent explorer le centre virtuel pour en apprendre plus, entre autres, sur les moyens de régler des questions sans avoir recours aux tribunaux, les formulaires à remplir pour introduire diverses instances, ainsi que comment les obtenir et les remplir, et la marche à suivre pour fixer une audience.

Ce projet vise à aider les personnes qui se représentent elles mêmes à mieux se préparer à leur comparution et à réduire le stress qui y est associé. Nous espérons que ce projet permettra également d'augmenter l'efficacité du tribunal, car les juges devront interrompre moins souvent les instances pour éduquer les plaideurs sans avocat.

Nous sommes heureux de souhaiter la bienvenue à deux nouvelles adjointes à la recherche juridique qui travailleront à ce projet, soit Mélodie Lagacé et Wendy Miller.


Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, communiquer avec pleisnb@web.ca