Twitter Facebook Vimeo

Helping New Brunswickers Know the Law

Law By Topic

Criminal Law

Download PDF         Order Now        Survey

You Are Not Alone: Tips for Teen Victims

Being the teen victim of a crime can be stressful. There are services available for young people who have been a victim. If you have questions or concerns about your role as a victim in the criminal justice system, the Department of Public Safety, Victim Services can help. They can explain the criminal justice process and offer support to help you cope with the impact of being a victim.

You Are Not Alone – Being supported through difficult times is a video which explains the services available to young people who have been the victim of a crime. It includes tips for reporting a crime to the police, preparing for court and getting support to deal with the trauma of being a victim. This pamphlet contains an overview of the tips and information in the video. Visit the website www.gnb.ca/publicsafety or contact a Victim Services Coordinator in your area to view the video.

 Reporting Crime

  • Consider talking to your parents. Even if you feel embarrassed or responsible for what has happened, you should talk to your parents or another adult you trust. Family and friends can play an important role in helping you find answers and deal with the impact of the crime.
  • Contact the police as soon as possible. The information you provide may be very important to the police and may help prevent others from becoming victims of crime.
  • You can have a parent or other adult with you for support while you are talking to the police. Some police departments have staff members who are trained to provide support to victims who are reporting a crime.
  • The police will ask you a lot of questions to help them determine who is responsible. They must have enough proof to accuse the person of a crime. This does not mean they think you are lying or do not believe you have been a victim.
  • It is possible that no one will be charged with the crime. The police may not be able to identify the person who committed the crime or there may not be enough evidence to prove someone is responsible for the crime.
  • Even if you change your mind about testifying in court, it is not always possible to drop the charges once someone has been accused of a crime.
  • If you are worried about your safety, talk to the police. Tell the police right away if you are threatened because you reported a crime. There are ways they can help keep you safe.

Being Supported

Being supported through the criminal justice process is important. You may be dealing with many different emotions, and will have questions about your case and the court process. Family and friends can be supportive, but they may not have the training to help you deal with the trauma of being a victim or to answer your questions about going to court. The Department of Public Safety, Victim Services provides assistance to people who have been a victim of a crime and have reported the crime to the police.

Victim Services can help you deal with the stress of going to court in many ways. Your Victim Services Coordinator can:

  • Explain the court process, who will be in the courtroom and your role as a victim.
  • Provide information on the status of the case.
  • Provide trained staff or volunteers to be with you during the trial.
  • Explain why the court found the accused person guilty or not guilty.
  • Provide information on Victim Impact Statements and how they may be presented at a sentencing hearing.
  • Arrange counselling and other services.

Counselling is available if you are having a difficult time dealing with the crime or if you are concerned about speaking in the courtroom. Your Victim Services Coordinator can make arrange¬ments for you to meet with a counsellor to help you cope with the impact of the trial and the crime.

Preparing for Court

  • Be prepared for delays. It can often take a long time for a case to go to court.
  • Before the trial you may meet with the lawyer who will tell the Judge why the person accused of the crime should be found guilty. This lawyer is called the Crown Prosecutor. The Crown Prosecutor will review with you the statement you gave to the police when you reported the crime and talk to you about the type of questions you may be asked in court.
  • Do not practice or memorize what you will say in court. You cannot know for certain what questions you will be asked.
  • Talk to the Crown Prosecutor or the Victim Services Coordinator if you are afraid or uncomfortable talking about what happened to you, or having to face the accused person in the court room. There are ways to make it easier for you to testify in court.

Going to Court

Your Victim Services Coordinator can explain what happens in court and how to act in the courtroom. Knowing what to expect can make it easier. Here are some tips:

  • Stand up when the Judge comes into the courtroom; everyone must stand until the Judge sits down.
  • Stand up when you are addressing the Court, or when the Judge is talking to you.
  • Be polite and respectful. In Provincial Court call the Judge “Your Honour”. In the Court of Queen’s Bench, call the Judge “Madam Justice” or “Mr. Justice”.
  • Dress appropriately; court is a serious occasion. Do not wear a hat in the courtroom.
  • Speak clearly, and only when it is your turn to talk.
  • Do not bring food, drinks or gum into the courtroom.
  • Turn off your cell phone and music player when you go into the courtroom.

 In some situations, such as sexual assault cases, it can be difficult to talk about what happened with your parents in the courtroom. If you think you will be uncomfortable, talk to your parents about having them step outside the courtroom while you testify. Your parents can be supportive without being in the room. It is possible to have a Victim Services Coordinator, trained volunteer, friend or family member sit beside you while you tell the court what happened, if it will make it easier for you to testify. Victim Services will explain what options are available to you and the use of testimonial aids.

Ongoing Support from Victim Services

Once the trial is over, Victim Services will set up a meeting with you and your parents to talk about what happened in the courtroom and to explain the reasons for the court’s decision. Your Victim Services Coordinator can also arrange for you to meet with the Crown Prosecutor if you have more questions.

When an accused person is found guilty, a date is set for a ‘sentencing hearing’. At the sentencing hearing you and other victims of the crime will have the opportunity to give the Judge information about how the crime has affected you. You can choose to write a Victim Impact Statement. Your Victim Services Coordina¬tor will assist you with the forms and explain what information the Judge will consider when making a sentencing decision.

At the sentencing hearing you can read your statement out loud in the courtroom if you want to. The Judge will consider what you have written even if you do not wish to read it. The Judge will consider how the crime affected you as well as other factors when deciding on a sentence for the guilty person.

Registering for Ongoing Victim Notification

If the offender was sentenced to custody in a prison or a youth centre, you or your parents may want to know when decisions are being made about the person’s release from custody. Your parents must register to receive this information. Talk to Victim Services about how to register to get information on the person’s release.

For More Information

There are many publications and resources for victims of crime available from the Department of Public Safety, Victim Services and Public Legal Education and Information Service of New Brunswick.

How Can I Contact Victim Services In My Area?
Call your local Victim Services Office for free resources or to set up an appointment:
       
Bathurst  547-2924 Richibucto   523-7150
Moncton 856-2875 Campbellton 789-2388
Miramichi 627-4065 Bouctouche 743-7493
Fredericton 453-2768 Perth-Andover 473-7706
Tracadie-Sheila 394-3690 Burton 357-4035
Grand Falls 473-7706 Woodstock  325-4422
Elsipogtog  523-4723 Edmundston 735-2543
St. Stephen  466-7414 Shediac 533-9100
Saint John 658-3742    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Published by:

Public Safety
P.O. Box 6000
Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 5H1
www.gnb.ca/publicsafety

and

Public Legal Education and Information Service of New Brunswick
P.O. Box 6000
Fredericton, New Brunswick E3B 5H1
Tel: 506-453-5369
Fax: 506-462-5193
Email: pleisnb@web.ca
www.legal-info-legale.nb.ca

ISBN: 978-1-55471-735-4

 

 

Back to Criminal Law

 

Disclaimer: Please note that our website contains general information about the law. This is not a complete statement of the law on particular topics. We try to update our publications often, but laws change frequently so it is important for you to check to make sure the information is up to date.  The information in our publications is not a substitute for legal advice. To receive legal advice about your specific situation, you need to speak to a lawyer.

Twitter Facebook Vimeo

Le droit à la portée des Néo-Brunswickois

La loi vos droits

Droit pénal

Télécharger le document PDF       Commander maintenant      Survey

Vous n'êtes pas seul : Conseils à l'intention des adolescents victimes d'un crime

Être victime d’un crime à l’adolescence peut être une expérience stressante. Il existe des services à l’intention des jeunes qui ont été victimes d’un crime. Si tu as des questions ou des préoccupations au sujet de ton rôle en tant que victime dans le système de justice pénale, les Services aux victimes du ministère de la Sécurité publique peuvent t’aider. Ils peuvent t’expliquer le processus de justice pénale et t’offrir du soutien pour t’aider à faire face aux répercussions du fait d’être une victime.

Vous n’êtes pas seul – Services de soutien par les temps difficiles est une vidéo qui explique les services offerts aux jeunes qui ont été victimes d’un crime. La vidéo contient des conseils pour signaler un crime à la police, se préparer à comparaître en cour et obtenir du soutien pour faire face au traumatisme d’être une victime. Ce dépliant offre un aperçu des conseils et de l’information présentés dans la vidéo. Pour visionner la vidéo, il suffit de visiter le site Web www.gnb.ca/securitepublique ou de communiquer avec un coordonnateur des Services aux victimes de ta région.

Signaler un crime

  • Envisage de parler à tes parents. Même si cela te gêne ou que tu te sens responsable de ce qui est arrivé, tu devrais parler à tes parents ou à un autre adulte en qui tu as confiance. La famille et les amis peuvent jouer un rôle important en t’aidant à trouver des réponses et à faire face aux répercussions du crime.
  • Communique avec le service de police le plus tôt possible. L’information que tu donnes peut grandement aider la police et prévenir d’autres crimes.
  • Ton père ou ta mère ou un autre adulte peut être présent durant ton entretien avec la police. Dans certains services de police, des membres du personnel ont suivi une formation pour savoir comment soutenir les victimes qui signalent un crime.
  • La police te posera beaucoup de questions pour essayer de déterminer qui est responsable. La police doit détenir des preuves suffisantes avant d’accuser une personne d’un crime, ce qui ne veut pas dire qu’elle pense que tu mens ou qu’elle ne te croit pas.
  • Il est possible qu’aucune accusation ne soit portée. Il se peut que la police ne soit pas en mesure d’identifier l’auteur du crime, ou bien que les preuves soient insuffisantes pour tenir quelqu’un responsable du crime.
  • Même si tu changes d’idée et que tu ne veux plus témoigner en cour, il n’est pas toujours possible de retirer l’accusation une fois qu’une personne est accusée d’un crime.
  • Si tu crains pour ta sécurité, parle à la police. Si tu reçois des menaces parce que tu as signalé un crime, informes-en la police immédiatement. La police dispose de moyens pour assurer ta sécurité.

 Recevoir du soutien

Il est important de recevoir du soutien au cours du processus de justice pénale. Tu jongles peut-être avec de nombreuses émotions dif¬férentes, et tu auras probablement des questions au sujet de ta cause et du processus judiciaire. La famille et les amis peuvent t’appuyer, mais ces personnes n’ont pas la formation nécessaire pour t’aider à faire face au traumatisme d’être victime ou répondre à tes questions concernant la comparution en cour. Les Services aux victimes du ministère de la Sécurité publique offrent de l’aide aux personnes qui ont été victimes d’un crime et qui ont signalé le crime à la police.

Les Services aux victimes peuvent t’aider à te préparer à ta comparu¬tion en cour et aux stress que cela cause. Ton coordonnateur des Services aux victimes peut :

  • Expliquer le processus judiciaire et décrire les personnes qui seront présentes dans la salle d’audience et ton rôle en tant que victime.
  • Te tenir au courant de l’état de ta cause.
  • Fournir les services de bénévoles ou d’employés ayant suivi une formation pour t’accompagner durant le procès.
  • Expliquer pourquoi la cour a jugé que la personne accusée était coupable ou non coupable.
  • Fournir de l’information concernant la déclaration de la victime sur les répercussions du crime et sa présentation à l’audience de détermination de la peine.
  • Prendre des dispositions pour des services de counseling et autres.

Si tu as de la difficulté à composer avec les répercussions du crime ou si le fait de prendre la parole dans la salle d’audience t’inquiète, il est possible de recevoir des services de counseling. Ton coordonnateur des Services aux victimes peut organiser un rendez-vous avec un conseiller qui t’aidera à passer au travers du procès et des répercussions du crime.

Se préparer au procès

  • Prépare-toi à ce qu’il y ait des retards. Il faut parfois beaucoup de temps avant qu’une cause soit entendue par la cour.
  • Avant le procès, il se peut que tu rencontres l’avocat qui expliquera au juge les raisons pour lesquelles la personne accusée du crime devrait être déclarée coupable. Cet avocat est le procureur de la Couronne. Le procureur de la Couronne examinera la déclaration que tu as donnée à la police au moment où tu as signalé le crime, et il te parlera du genre de questions qui pourraient t’être posées en cour.
  • Il ne sert à rien de te pratiquer ou d’apprendre par coeur ce que tu diras en cour. Tu ne peux pas vraiment savoir quelles questions on te posera.
  • Si tu te sens mal à l’aise pour parler de ce qui t’est arrivé ou si tu as peur de te retrouver face à la personne accusée dans la salle d’audience, parle au procureur de la Couronne ou au coordonnateur des Services aux victimes. Il y a des moyens qui peuvent être pris pour faciliter ton témoignage en cour.

En cour

Ton coordonnateur des Services aux victimes peut t’expliquer ce qui se passera en cour et comment tu dois te comporter dans la salle d’audience. Savoir à quoi s’attendre facilite les choses. Voici quelques conseils :

  • Lève-toi quand le juge entre dans la salle d’audience; tout le monde reste debout jusqu’à ce que le juge s’assoie.
  • Lève-toi quand tu t’adresses à la cour ou lorsque le juge te parle.
  • Fais preuve de politesse et de respect. À la Cour provinciale, on s’adresse au juge en l’appelant « Votre Honneur », et à la Cour du Banc de la Reine, en l’appelant « Madame la juge » ou « Monsieur le juge ».
  • Habille-toi convenablement. Une comparution en cour, c’est sérieux. Évite de porter un chapeau dans la salle d’audience.
  • Parle clairement et seulement quand c’est à ton tour.
  • Il est interdit d’apporter de la nourriture, des boissons ou de la gomme à mâcher dans la salle d’audience.
  • Ferme ton cellulaire et ton lecteur de musique avant d’entrer dans la salle d’audience.

 Dans certaines situ¬ations, par exemple s’il y a eu agression sexuelle, il peut être difficile de raconter ce qui est arrivé en présence de tes parents. Si tu penses que tu te sen¬tiras mal à l’aise en leur présence, tu peux demander à tes parents de quitter la salle d’audience pendant ton témoignage. Tes parents peuvent t’appuyer sans se trouver dans la salle. Il est possible de prendre des dispositions pour qu’un coordonnateur des Services aux victimes, un bénévole ayant reçu une formation, un ami ou un membre de la famille s’assoie à côté de toi pendant que tu racontes à la cour ce qui s’est passé si cela facilite ton témoignage. Les Ser¬vices aux victimes t’expliqueront les options possibles et les moyens qui peuvent être utilisés pour t’aider à témoigner.

Soutien continu des Services aux victimes

À l’issue du procès, les Services aux victimes organiseront une réunion avec toi et tes parents pour parler de ce qui s’est passé dans la salle d’audience et expliquer les raisons qui sous-tendent la décision de la cour. Ton coordonnateur des Services aux victimes peut aussi fixer un rendez-vous avec le procureur de la Couronne si tu as d’autres questions.

Lorsqu’une personne accusée est déclarée coupable, une date est fixée pour « l’audience de détermination de la peine ». À cette audience, toi et les autres victimes du crime avez l’occasion de donner au juge de l’information sur les répercussions que le crime a eu sur vous, les victimes. Tu peux choisir d’écrire une déclaration de la victime sur les répercussions du crime. Ton coordonnateur des Services aux victimes t’aidera à remplir les formulaires et t’expliquera les informations que le juge prendra en considération dans la détermination de la peine.

À l’audience de détermination de la peine, tu peux, si tu le veux, lire ta déclaration à voix haute dans la salle d’audience. Le juge tiendra compte de ce que tu as écrit même si tu ne veux pas lire ta déclaration. Le juge prendra en considération les répercussions que le crime a eues pour toi ainsi que d’autres facteurs dans la détermination de la peine de la personne déclarée coupable.

Inscription pour la notification aux victimes

Si la personne est condamnée à la détention dans une prison ou un centre de jeunes, toi ou tes parents pourriez vouloir être tenus au courant des décisions qui seront prises au sujet de sa libération. Tes parents doivent s’inscrire pour recevoir cette information. Demande aux Services aux victimes com¬ment s’inscrire pour recevoir de l’information au sujet de la libération du contrevenant.

Plus de renseignements

De nombreuses publications et ressources à l’intention des victimes de crime sont offertes par les Services aux victimes du ministère de la Sécurité publique et par le Service public d’éducation et d’information juridiques du Nouveau-Brunswick.

 

Comment puis-je communiquer avec les Services aux victimes dans ma région?
Appelez le bureau des Services aux victimes de votre localité pour obtenir des ressources gratuites ou pour fixer un rendez vous :
 
Bathurst 547-2924 Richibucto 523-7150 Fredericton 453-2768
Moncton 856-2875 Campbellton 789-2388 Tracadie-Sheila 394-3690
Bouctouche 743-7493 Saint John 658-3742 Grand-Sault 473-7706
Perth-Andover 473-7706 Edmundston 735-2543    
Burton 357-4035 Shediac 533-9100    
Woodstock 325-4422 Elsipogtog 523-4723    
Miramichi 627-4065 St. Stephen 466-7414    

 


 

Publié Par:

Sécurité publique
C.P. 6000
Fredericton (Nouveau-Brunswick)
E3B 5H1
www.gnb.ca/sécuritépublique


Service public d’éducation et d’information juridiques du Nouveau-Brunswick
C.P. 6000
Fredericton, Nouveau-Brunswick
E3B 5H1
Téléphone : 506-453-5369
Télécopieur : 506-462-5193
Courriel: pleisnb@web.ca                                                                                                              
www.legal-info-legale.nb.ca

ISBN: 978-1-55471-735-4

 

Retourner à la section Droit pénal

 

Décharge : Notre site Web fournit des renseignements juridiques généraux. Il ne contient pas un exposé intégral des questions de droit dans les domaines visés. Nous tentons de mettre nos publications à jour régulièrement, mais les lois sont souvent modifiées. Il est donc important d’effectuer les vérifications nécessaires pour s'assurer que l'information fournie est à jour. L’information fournie dans nos publications ne doit pas être considérée comme l’équivalent d’un avis juridique. Pour obtenir un avis juridique concernant une situation en particulier, vous devez communiquer avec un avocat.